A group of employees in blue coveralls and PPE work on a construction site at the oilfield

A field-wide refurbishment programme

Over $12bn has so far been invested in the process of transforming every aspect of the Rumaila operation. Many facilities are over 50-years old, but a modernization, repair and refurbishment programme is improving efficiency, as we bring this field up to world-class standard.

Field facilities

Our cluster pump stations, associated pipeline network and the water treatment plant at the village of Qarmat Ali are all being upgraded, to support water injection projects that address dwindling pressure levels in our now mature reservoirs.

Fourteen degassing stations are being upgraded as part of a multi-year programme to restore process integrity, operability and reliability. New vessels are being introduced to improve hydrocarbon separation to enhance oil quality and new storage tanks have been built to help store oil when exports pauses are requested by the Ministry, enabling the operation to continue to function for longer.

Perhaps most importantly has been the introduction of new vessels and equipment to tackle the increasing challenge of more produced water entering degassing stations. Rumaila now treats 1.8 million barrels per day of produced fluids (oil and water) – of which around 420,000 barrels of water must be separated and disposed of. The introduction of new dehydrators and desalters, free water knock-out and produced water disposal units are key to the operation’s response to this unprecedented challenge in the field’s history.

Our field renovations are enabling facilities from the 1970s to continue to treat production fluids – oil, gas and water – at levels never previously seen in the field’s history.
A large desalter vessel is driven along sandy Iraq roads on the back of a lorry

Dehydrator and Desalter (D&D)

Two vessels arrive at the Qurainat Degassing Station

A group of men in blue coveralls and PPE install new desalter and degassing (D&Ds) vessel with the help of a crane

Dehydrator and Desalter (D&D)

Vessels installation following extensive preparatory work at the facility

Two large beige construction containers side-by-side at the Qarmat Ali water treatment plant

Water Treatment Plant

Qarmat Ali

Supporting infrastructure

A square kilometre of land has been transformed into a secure headquarters at South Rumaila, with modern office space for 1,000 staff; while in the north, the purpose-built Rumaila Supply Base is the size of 24 football pitches. Located nearby is the Rumaila Academy, which offers e-learning rooms, multipurpose classrooms and a specially designated driving safety suite.

Rumaila also has world-class medical facilities in four locations across the field, including a dedicated occupational health centre. Read more about our field-wide, 24-hour emergency ambulance coverage here.

A new power station

In addition, a newly constructed electricity power plant became fully operational at the Rumaila oilfield in March 2018. Fuelled by gas captured from the field’s own hydrocarbon reserves, the plant helps to make Rumaila self-sustainable and frees capacity for the national grid. Read more here.

Construction work taking place on a new electricity power plant near the oilfield
  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

مجموعة من العمال يرتدون مآزر زرقاء ومعدات الوقاية الشخصية يعملون بموقع إنشاء في حقل النفط

برنامج واسع لتجديد الحقل

أكثر من 12 مليار دولار تم إستثمارها حتى الآن في عملية تطوير كل جانب من جوانب عملية الرميلة. ورغم تقادم معظم المُعدات والمنشآت بتخطيها الخمسين عاماً، يسعى برنامج التحديث والإصلاح والتجديد إلى تحسين الكفاءة بينما نرتقي بهذا الحقل إلى المستوى العالمي.

منشآت الحقل

يجري في الوقت الحالي تطوير محطات الحقن و شبكة الأنابيب المرتبطة بها الى جانب محطة معالجة مياه كرمة علي لدعم مشاريع حقن الماء التي ستعالج تضاؤل مستويات الضغط في مكامن الحقل.

ويُجرى إصلاح وتجديد أربعة عشرة محطة من محطات عزل الغاز كجزء من برنامج يستمر لعدة سنوات. كما ويتم العمل على إدخال وحدات جديدة بغية تحسين فصل الهيدروكربونات من أجل تحسين جودة النفط، كما تم إكمال إنشاء خزانات جديدة لخزن النفط عندما تطلب الوزارة إيقاف التصدير لوقتٍ قصير، مما يُمَكِن العملية من الإستمرار لفترةٍ أطول.

قد يكون إدخال الوحدات و المعدات الجديدة الأمر الأكثر أهمية لمعالجة التحدي المتنامي المتمثل بإرتفاع نسبة المياه المُنتَجَة التي تدخل الى محطات عزل الغاز، حيث تتعامل الرميلة الآن مع 1.8 مليون برميل من الموائع يومياً (نفط و ماء) – حيث يجب فصل 420,000 برميل ماء و التخلص منه يومياً. إن إدخال وحدات النفط الرطب و وحدات طرد الماء المصاحب الجديدة أمرٌ مهمٌ جداً لتخطي هذا التحدي غير المسبوق في تاريخ الحقل.

تساعد أعمال تجديد الحقل منذ السبعينات على الإستمرار بمعالجة الموائع (النفط و الغاز و الماء) بمستويات غير مشهودة في تاريخ الحقل.

مجموعة من الرجال يرتدون مآزر زرقاء ومعدات الوقاية الشخصية يثبتون حاوية إزالة أملاح وفصل غاز جديدة (D&Ds) باستخدام رافعة

وحدات النفط الرطب

نصب الوحدات بعد إكمال أعمال تحضيرية واسعة النطاق في المنشأة

حاوية إزالة أملاح كبيرة منقولة عبر طريق طرق العراق الرميلة على ظهر شاحنة

وحدات النفط الرطب

وصول وحدتين الى محطة عزل غاز القرينات

حاويتا إنشاءات كبيرتان لونهما بيج تقفان بجانب محطة معالجة مياه كرمة علي

محطة معالجة مياه

كرمة علي

دعم البنى التحتية

كما تم تحويل مساحة كيلو متر مربع من الأرض إلى مقر رئيسي مؤمن في جنوب الرميلة يضم مكاتب حديثة التصميم ومرافق ترفيهية وآماكن إقامة لـ 1000 موظف، كما تم إنشاء قاعدة تجهيز الرميلة في الشمال من الحقل و التي تشغل مساحة تعادل المساحة الكلية لـ24 ملعب كرة قدم. و بالقرب منها تم بناء منشأة تدريبية جديدة اطلق عليها (أكاديمية الرميلة) من أجل توفير فصول للتعلم الإلكتروني وقاعات دراسية متعددة الأغراض وجناح مخصص للتدريب على القيادة الآمنة.

كما إن هنالك منشآت طبية متطورة و حديثة متوزعة على أربعة مواقع في الحقل، و تشمل مركزا جديدا مخصصا للصحة المهنية في شمال الرميلة يقدم خدمة الإسعاف للحالات الطارئة على مدار الساعة، لمعرفة المزيد.

محطة طاقة كهربائية جديدة

بالإضافة الى ذلك، إكتملت أعمال إنشاء محطة جديدة للطاقة الكهربائية ودخلت الخدمة فعلياً في حقل الرميلة النفطي في آذار 2018، حيث يتم تشغيل هذه المحطة بالغاز الذي يتم إستخراجه من حقل الرميلة الأمر الذي سيساعد على جعل الرميلة مستدامة ذاتياً من ناحية الطاقة الكهربائية. لمعرفة المزيد.

أعمال إنشاءات تجري في محطة توليد كهرباء جديدة بالقرب من حقل النفط
  • شارك هذه الصفحة