Eleven trainee Iraqi engineers in China stand around a model of an oil rig as part of a course supported by Rumaila Education Fund

Basra: a centre of oil and gas expertise

Rumaila is committed to broadening and deepening the existing skills base in the sector. It does this through the dedicated Rumaila Education Fund (REF).

Established as part of the Technical Service Contract the REF exists to upgrade Iraq’s institutes and develop oil and gas related technology; support the technical and linguistic training of Iraqi Basra Oil Company personnel, and to fund overseas scholarships for Iraqi students. To date, almost $15 million has been spent in support of these objectives.

Rumaila has spent almost $15 million in supporting initiatives that support the Iraq oil and gas industry.

Supporting the Iraqi oil and gas sector

Rumaila signed a contract in May 2015 with a Swiss company, Endress+Hauser, to supply a crude oil Custody Transfer Simulator to the Mayssan Oil Training Institute (a branch of the Basra Oil Training Institute). This simulator helps to train students to measure and control fluid level and flow.

We have also worked with international oil and gas industry standards and training provider (Opito) and the Basra Oil Training Institute to survey the capacity of local oil technicians training provision. Further investment is planned to support both the Baiji Oil Institute and the Baghdad Oil Institute.

Eight men wearing suits and one woman receive classroom style training sessions in China

Training Overseas

BOC employees receive training in China

Technical and linguistic training courses

Courses have been provided for over 621 BOC (previously known as SOC) personnel in China, the UK and neighbouring Middle East countries since 2010. These courses, ranging from advanced financial accounting to drilling techniques and HR Management, give the next generation of engineers and professionals vital skills required in 21st century energy operations.

Scholarships Overseas

From 2010 to 2014, Rumaila supported a special English language training scheme between Basra University and the University of Oregon, whereby Iraqi students attended an academic year at the US University. In 2015, 29 students were nominated to enrol on post-graduate courses at universities in the UK for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 academic years. Four of these students will study for PhD degrees and the remaining 25 will undertake Master’s degree programmes.

Rumaila will also support a new programme for the school 2018-2019 for graduates of technical institutes and secondary schools. Eight individuals have been nominated to get their Bachelor’s degree at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen, Scotland, which will be for four years.

  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

أحد عشر متدربًا من المهندسين العراقيين في الصين يقفون حول نموذج لحفار نفط كجزء من الدورة التدريبية التي يدعمها صندوق الرميلة للتعليم

البصرة :مركز لخبرات النفط والغاز

تلتزم الرميلة بتوسيع وتعميق قاعدة المهارات الحالية في هذا القطاع وذلك من خلال صندوق الرميلة التعليمي (REF).

تم تأسيس صندوق الرميلة التعليمي كجزء من عقد الخدمة الفنية بهدف: تحديث معاهد التدريب النفطي في العراق وتطوير التكنولوجيا المرتبطة بصناعة النفط والغاز، وتقديم الدعم في مجال التدريب الفني واللغوي لموظفي شركة نفط البصرة، مع تمويل منح دراسية في الخارج لطلبة عراقيين. وحتى الآن، تم إنفاق ما يقرب من 15 مليون دولار لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

قدمت الرميلة ما يقارب 15 مليون دولار تمويلاً لمبادرات تهدف لدعم صناعة النفط والغاز في العراق.

دعم قطاع النفط والغاز في العراق

في شهر مايس من العام 2015 وقعت الرميلة عقداً مع شركة سويدية "إندرس وهاوزر" لتوفير منظومة نقل الملكية لمعهد النفط في ميسان (وهوأحد فروع معهد التدريب النفطي في البصرة)، حيث يساعد هذا المحاكي في تدريب الطلبة على القياس والسيطرة على مستوى وتدفق السائل.

كما أبرمنا اتفاقية تدريب مع مؤسسة تقدم خدمات التدريب والمعايير الدولية لصناعة النفط والغاز (Opito) وإتفاقية أخرى مع معهد التدريب النفطي في البصرة للبحث عن إمكانية تقديم التدريب لفنيي النفط المحليين. كما من المخطط القيام بإستثمارات أخرى لدعم كلاً من معهد نفط بيجي وبغداد.

ثمانية رجال يرتدون بدلات وسيدة يتلقون جلسات تدريبية على غرار الفصول الدراسية في الصين

التدريب خارج القطر

تدريب موظفي شركة نفط البصرة في الصين

دورات تدريبية تقنية ولغوية

تم تقديم دورات تدريبية الى أكثر من 621 موظف من شركة نفط البصرة (نفط الجنوب سابقاً) في الصين والمملكة المتحدة والدول العربية المجاورة منذ العام 2010، حيث تشمل هذه الدورات عدة مجالات بدءاً من المحاسبة المالية المتقدمة الى تقنيات الحفر وإدارة الموارد البشرية، وذلك لإعطاء الجيل القادم من المهندسين والمهنيين المهارات الحيوية الضرورية في عمليات الطاقة للقرن الواحد والعشرين.

المنح الدراسية خارج العراق

منذ عام 2010 وحتى عام 2014 دعمت الرميلة برنامجا خاصا للتدريب على اللغة الإنجليزية بين جامعة البصرة وجامعة أوريكون، حيث التحق بموجبه طلاب وأساتذة عراقيون من جامعة البصرة بدورات تدريبية في تلك الجامعة الأمريكية لعامٍ دراسيٍ واحد. وفي العام 2015 تم ترشيح 29 طالباً لإكمال الدراسات العليا في جامعات المملكة المتحدة للعامين الدراسيين 2016-2017 و2017-2018. كما سيكمل أربع من هؤلاء الطلبة دراستهم لنيل شهادة الدكتوراه بينما سيكمل بقية الطلبة البالغ عددهم 25 دراستهم لنيل شهادة الماجستير.

كما ستقوم الرميلة بدعم برنامج جديد للسنة الدراسية 2018-2019 لخريجي المعاهد الفنية وخريجي الدراسة الاعدادية حيث تم ترشيح 8 اشخاص لدراسة البكلوريوس بجامعة روبرت غوردون في ابردين، سكوتلاندا، وستكون فترة الدراسة اربع سنوات.

  • شارك هذه الصفحة